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CHAPTER 1 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

1.1 Authority 
 
The Nebraska Board of Geologists, hereinafter called the "Board," is created by the Geologists 
Regulation Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 81-3501 to 81-3541, hereinafter called the “Act.” Pursuant to Neb. 
Rev. Stat. § 81-3522, the Board shall, from time to time, adopt rules and regulations consistent with the 
laws of the State of Nebraska, which the Board deems necessary for the purpose of interpreting and 
implementing the Act. 

 

1.2 Severability 
 
If any provisions of these regulations or the application thereof to any person or circumstance is invalid, 
such invalidity shall not affect other provisions or application of these regulations which can be given 
without the invalid provision or application, and to this end the provisions of these regulations are 
declared to be severable. 

 

1.3 Definitions 
 
The definitions set out in Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 81-3504 to 81-3519, are hereby incorporated by reference 
into these rules and regulations. In addition, the following definitions of terms shall apply: 

 

1.3.1 ASBOG® means the National Association of State Boards of Geology. 
 

1.3.2 FG Examination means the ASBOG® Fundamentals of Geology examination. 

 
1.3.3 PG Examination means the ASBOG® Practice of Geology examination. 

 
1.3.4 Temporary Permit means a permit issued by the Board for use on a specific project, 

not lasting in duration for more than one year. 
 

1.3.5 Work, unless otherwise qualified, means the professional services comprising the 
practice of geology. 

 

1.4 Fees, Renewals, Late Payment Penalties 
 

1.4.1 The fees shall be set by the Board and is are as follows effective July 1, 2025: 

 
Application Fees: 

Fundamentals of Geology (FG) Exam Application Fee $50 
Practice of Geology (PG) Exam Application Fee $100 
Reciprocal License Application Fee $100150 
Certificate of Authorization Application Fee $100200 

 
Licensing/Enrollment Fees: 

Geologist-Intern Enrollment Fee Included in FG exam application fee 
Licensing Fee Included in PG exam and license application fee 
Temporary Permit Fee $175250 
Emeritus Fee (Lifetime) $25 
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Renewal Fees: 
License Renewal Fee $65100 
Late Renewal Fee $6.5010.00 for any month or any part of a month, up to $65100 
Certificate of Authorization Renewal Fee $100200 

 

Miscellaneous Fees: 
Duplicate Certificate $15 
Exam Seat Reservation Fee $35 

 

1.4.2 The initial license of each approved professional geologist is valid for the calendar year 
in which it was first approved by the Board. The renewal fee applies to the next 
calendar year. 

 
1.4.31.4.2 Certificates of licensure of a professional geologist shall expire at midnight on December 

31 of each year, but may be renewed during the following year upon payment of a late 
fee. The late fee to be paid for the renewal of a certificate after December 31 shall be 
increased ten percent of the renewal fee for each month or fraction of a month that the 
payment is delinquent. The maximum renewal fee and late fee for a delinquent renewal 
shall not exceed twice the amount of the regular renewal fee and no renewal shall be 
made after one year from the original expiration date. A new application will be required 
after such date. 

 
1.4.41.4.3 Certificates of authorization are valid for two years and shall expire at midnight on the 

date of expiration. An expired certificate may be renewed during the following year upon 
receipt of the renewal fee. No renewal shall be made after one year from the expiration 
date. A new application will be required after such date. 

 

1.4.51.4.4 The fees may be adjusted as needed to generate the revenue needed to administer 
the Geologists Regulation Act. 

 
1.4.61.4.5 Submittal of an application authorizes the Board to investigate the information 

provided on or appended to the application. 
 

1.4.71.4.6 In addition to fees submitted to the Board, applicants are required to pay fees 
associated with examinations as established by ASBOG®. 

 
1.4.81.4.7 All fees are non-refundable. Exam seat reservation fees are non-transferrable to a future 

examination. 
 

1.5 Applications 
 

1.5.1 Absent specific Board action, applications not completed within one year of receipt by 
the Board, will be closed. If an applicant wishes to continue the application process 
after such date, the applicant will be required to submit a new application and 
application fee and meet the current requirements in place at that time. 

 
1.5.2 An applicant’s prior criminal or disciplinary history from any jurisdiction may be 

considered by the Board as part of the application process for examination or licensure. 
The existence of such history is not an automatic bar to being licensed or approved to 
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take the examinations, nor is disclosure intended to automatically require consideration 
of the discipline by the Board. 

 
1.5.3 No immediate family member of the applicant or current member of the Board shall 

serve as a reference when references are required as part of the application. 
 

1.6 Professional Assistance 
 
The Board may retain professional assistance in carrying out administrative matters and other general 
governance of the Board. Such assistance may include financial, technological, legal, and administrative 
consultation, and shall work under the general direction of the Board.  

 

1.7 Change of Contact Information and/or Name 
 
It is the responsibility of the professional geologist, intern, examinee, or organization to notify the Board of 
any changes in their contact information. If an individual changes his or her name, the person will notify 
the Board in writing of the name change and include a copy of the legal documents supporting the name 
change. All contact information and/or name change notifications should be made in writing using the 
method designated by the Board within 30 calendar days of the change in information. 

 

1.8 Adoption of the Attorney General’s Model Rules 
 
The Board has adopted Title 53, Nebraska Administrative Code, Chapters 1 through 4 of the Nebraska 
Department of Justice, also known as the Attorney General’s Model Rules, and has incorporated them 
into these regulations. 

 
1.9 Public Information Requests 

 
Public information requests will be processed in accordance with Nebraska Public Information statutes. 
A roster of professional geologists will be provided on the Board’s website for public use. 

 
1.10 Confidentiality of Information 

 
1.10.1 Records denoted in Neb. Rev. Stat. §84-712.05 are considered non-public. 
 
1.10.2 Replies received from references regarding the qualifications of an application shall be 

placed in files that are considered non-public records. The source and character of this 
information will not be divulged except when required by law. 

 
1.10.3 Examination materials and results are considered confidential except examination 

results will be given directly to the examinee. Passing scores may be verified to another 
licensing jurisdiction upon written request of the examinee or the licensing jurisdiction. 

 
1.10.4 An individual in the application process may personally inspect the content of his or her 

file except those items listed in this section. 
 
1.10.5 Original documents will remain with the Board, but may be copied at the Board’s office. 

 
1.11 Transcripts 
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Transcripts or other documents issued by the granting institution of higher education, or its authorized 
agent, will be acceptable as proof of graduation when such proof is required by the Board. 
 
1.12 Record of Board’s Actions 
 
If a quorum is present, a simple majority of the Board members present is needed to take action 
unless otherwise noted in the Geologists Regulation Act and these rules. The Board will keep a record 
of actions enacted at its meetings. 
 
1.13 Conditional Approvals 
 

1.13.1 The Board may authorize the Board’s designee to issue licenses, certificates of 
authorization, and temporary permits on a conditional basis, pending formal 
consideration of the application by the Board. 

 
1.13.2 In the event the Board fails to give formal approval for any reason of an application, the 

conditional license, certificate, or temporary permit will expire at 11:59 p.m. on the date 
the licensee is notified of such Board action. 

 
1.13.3 Geologic services performed pursuant to a conditional approval will be deemed to have 

been performed pursuant to a valid license, certificate, or permit. 
 

1.14 Appeal of Denied Applications 
 
An applicant who has been denied admission to either the FG or PG exam, enrollment as a geologist-
intern, licensure as a professional geologist, or issuance of a certificate of authorization or temporary 
permit will be reconsidered by the Board if notice of appeal is filed within 30 days of the denial notice. 
Hearings will be held in accordance with Title 53, Nebraska Administrative Code, Chapter 4 of the 
Nebraska Department of Justice. 

 
1.15 Promulgation, Amendment, or Repeal of Rules 

 
Petitioning for rulemaking shall be in accordance with Title 53, Nebraska Administrative Code, Chapter 
2 of the Nebraska Department of Justice. 
 

 


